Recent Posts

Madlib Medicine Show: The Brick CD box set

Madlib, Madlib Medicine Show — August 26, 2016 | Comments (1)


Madlib Medicine Show is a music series the producer began in late 2009 as the official launch of his label Madlib Invazion. 13 CDs and 7 LPs were released in the series. Odd numbers (#1,3,5,7,9,11) are original Madlib productions (hip-hop, remix, beat tape and jazz). Even numbers (#2,4,6,8,10). are mixtapes of funk, soul, Brazilian, psych, jazz and other undefined forms of music from the Beat Konducta’s 4-ton* stack of vinyl. Madlib Medicine Show #12 and 13 are hip-hop remixes by Madlib.

THE BRICK ON CD compiles all 13 CD releases. The 2016 edition of The Brick has all CDs, each in 4-panel digipack sleeves, in a single box. THE BRICK ON VINYL compiles all of the odd-number, original works.

1. Madlib Medicine Show #1: Before the Verdict
Hip-hop Album feat. Guilty Simpson. Full-length, 17-tracks, combining new material and remixes.
2. Madlib Medicine Show #2: Flight to Brazil
Mixtape. 80-minutes of Brazilian psyche, folk and jazz.
3. Madlib Medicine Show #3: Beat Konducta in Africa
Hip-hop Album. Inspired by and based on African records of the early 1970s – obscure & independent vinyl gems from afro-beat, funk, psych-rock, garage-rock & soul movements from Africa.
4. Madlib Medicine Show #4: 420 Chalice All-Stars
Mixtape. All Jamaican sounds, 80 minutes. Complete with Los Angeles medicinal marijuana guide.
5. Madlib Medicine Show #5: History of the Loop Digga
Hip-Hop Album. Madlib’s early years, 1990-2000, from beat cassettes produced for local rap crew Crate Digga’s Palace.
6. Madlib Medicine Show #6: The Brain Wreck Show
Mixtape. Psych-prog-avante-freak-out-funk rock mix CD.
7. Madlib Medicine Show #7: High Jazz
Jazz Album. All new Madlib productions from his collective of jazz groups and musicians known as Yesterdays Universe.
8. Madlib Medicine Show #8: Advanced Jazz
Mixtape. A jazz music course with no grades, lecturer or tests – just a room of dusty jazz vinyl and Madlib at the turntable.
9. Madlib Medicine Show #9: Channel 85 Presents Nittyville
Hip-Hop Album feat. Frank Nitt. Loosely-based concept album around an obscure TV show, Nittyville, running on Channel 85. Full-length, 14 tracks.
10. Madlib Medicine Show #10: Black Soul
Mixtape. The Disco era, 80 mins, mixed by Madlib.
11. Madlib Medicine Show #11: Low Budget Hi-Fi
Hip-Hop Album. Dirty Demos produced by Madlib, with The Professionals (Madlib+Oh No), MED, Strong Arm Steady, AG, Guilty Simpson, J. Rocc, Supreme Team (Madlib+Karriem Riggins), and Jaylib.
12. Madlib Medicine Show #12: Raw Medicine
Hip-Hop Remixes. Part mixtape, part beat tape, featuring a host of un-suspecting collaborators that run the gamut from thugs, street poets, star emcees and underdogs. The show runs 60 minute with 30+ tracks.
13. Madlib Medicine Show: 13: Black Tape
Hip-Hop Remixes. The previously-unannounced encore to the Medicine Show series, and continuation of number 12. 60 minutes, 35 tracks.

(*4-tons of vinyl, this is true.)

We left copies of The Brick in random places all around the world to celebrate the Medicine Show: Tokyo, London, Los Angeles, New York, San Francisco, Paris.

The first edition of The Brick was a stack of jewel cases. This is now out of print.

Madlib Medicine Show: The Aftermath

Madlib Medicine Show, Rappcats — November 9, 2012 | Comments (5)

Madlib Invazion is producer Madlib’s proprietary independent record label. He incorporated the imprint in late 2009 to release his Madlib Medicine Show musical series. The idea was simple but challenging: release one album a month, for one year. With no preconceived notion as to what the series might become, Madlib would eventually create thirteen albums (now packaged as The Brick) and several other limited-edition vinyl releases. He has since produced shows worldwide under the Madlib Medicine Show banner and develops each of his projects under Madlib Invazion.

The Madlib Medicine Show experiment opened the doors for the producer’s collaboration with the rapper Freddie Gibbs, with whom Madlib has produced the acclaimed Thuggin’ and Shame EPs. An album nearing completion is scheduled for release on Madlib Invazion in 2013.

Madlib, Freddie Gibbs, J Rocc and Egon, have recently wrapped up 2012’s Madlib Medicine Show dates in the US, Europe, Russia and Australia, one of which is hazily captured in in this video by Mochilla’s Eric Coleman. While in Europe, he completed a photo shoot and interview for a cover feature in France’s acclaimed Modzik magazine which will hit news stands this month. Among other projects, a Quasimoto retrospective is in the works for Stones Throw. And while this video is titled “The Aftermath,” Madlib has already hinted at “more medicine.”

Upcoming: Madlib, Del the Funky Homosapien in Denver, Cervantes Masterpiece Ballroom, Dec. 21, 2012

Wet paint: Madlib Medicine Show vinyl editions

Madlib Medicine Show — June 13, 2012 | Comments (4)

The first vinyl edition of Madlib Medicine Show were released in one-of-a-kind silkscreened sleeves and an extra disc of music. These were designed by Jeff Jank, printed by Hit + Run, and contain additional artwork by Gustavo Eandi, Benjamin Marra. Here are a few selects.

Read more: – Take Cover: Madlib Medicine Show – Madlib Medicine Show

Free Medicine: London

London, April 18, 3:50 PM, BST – There’s a Madlib Medicine Show “Brick” at 1 Inverness St market, Camden. It’s in a crate. Free for whoever gets there first.

Update: drama on the Madlib Facebook indicates the brick has been picked up.

THE BRICK is the complete collection of Madlib’s Medicine Show series: 13 CD’s, 13 booklets, all wrapped together. Pre-order available a Stones Throw. Release date is April 27.

The brick contains…
Medicine Show #1: Before the Verdict
Medicine Show #2: Flight to Brazil
Medicine Show #3: Beat Konducta in Africa
Medicine Show #4: 420 Chalice All-Stars
Medicine Show #5: History of the Loop Digga
Medicine Show #6: The Brain Wreck Show
Medicine Show #7: High Jazz
Medicine Show #8: Advanced Jazz
Medicine Show #9: Nittyville
Medicine Show #10: Black Soul
Medicine Show #11: Low Budget High Fi
Medicine Show #12: Raw Medicine
Medicine Show #13: Black Tape

Madlib Medicine Show #12 Track List

Madlib Medicine Show — September 20, 2011 | Comments (12)

1: Intro
2: Capone-n-Noreaga
3: Inspectah Deck’s verse from 7L & Esoteric’s “Speaking Real Words” / Rae’s verse from Big Pun’s “Fire Water”
4: Q-Tip – For The Nasty
5: Interlude
6: Royce The 5’9 – Bustin
7: Interlude
8: Doom’s verse from De La Soul’s Roc Co Kane Flow
9: J Dilla – Let’s Take It Back
10: Remixes 2 Intro
11: Lord Tariq & Peter Gunz – Cross Bronx Expressway
12: Musiq Soulchild – Caught Up / Ghostface – Love Session
13: Frank N Dank – Ma Dukes
14: O-Solo – I’m A Monsta
15: Interlude
16: Clipse – Pussy
17: Skillz – Ya’ll Dont Wanna Do That
18: Interlude
19: Madlib – The Wigflip
20: Az – Never Change
21: Interlude
22: Royal Flush – Shines
23: Ghostface – Save Me Dear
24: Interlude
25: Phil Da Agony – Watch Out
26: Guilty Simpson (OJ Simpson) – Outside
27: QB’s Finest – Da Bridge 2001
28: Interlude
29: Cappadonna – Black Boy
30: Beanie Sigel – Wanted
31: Interlude
32: M.E.D. –
33: Kardinal Offishal – Belly Dancer
34: The Un – D.O.A.
35: Sadat X – verse from Diamond D’s “Feel It”
36: Interlude
37: Outro