Add to cart

Freddie Gibbs & Madlib – Deeper EP

Vinyl re-stock expected in late April 2014 | On the Deeper EP, Gibbs showcases the yin and yang of heartbreak and anger on the title track, in a lovelorn narrative that meshes perfectly with the weepy strings and insistent rhythm of Madlib’s beat. We haven’t heard something like this in rap music since Nas’ “One Love,” nearly twenty years ago. The b-side, “Harolds” – exclusive to this EP – gives Gibbs a chance to ride some low down Beat Konducta-fueled funk in a nostalgic ode to the Chicago chicken-shack that served as the backdrop to many of his seminal life experiences.

Read more, listen to “Deeper”:
Freddie Gibbs & Madlib – Deeper EP

A1. Deeper (O. Jackson, F. Tipton)
A2. Deeper (Instrumental) (O. Jackson)
A3. Ups and Downs (Bonus Beat)
B1. Harold’s (O. Jackson, F. Tipton)
B2. Harold’s (Instrumental) (O. Jackson)
B3. The Long Walk Home (Bonus Beat)

Label: Madlib Invazion | MMS019

1. Deeper
Freddie Gibbs & Madlib
2. Deeper (Instrumental)
Freddie Gibbs & Madlib
3. Ups And Downs (Bonus Beat)
Freddie Gibbs & Madlib
4. Harold’s
Freddie Gibbs & Madlib
5. Harold’s (Instrumental)
Freddie Gibbs & Madlib
6. The Long Walk Home (Bonus Beat)
Freddie Gibbs & Madlib